LIVRAISON GRATUITE - SANS VALEUR MINIMALE - PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ - GRANDE SÉLECTION - PETIT PRIX Avez-vous besoin d'aide?

Say Nothing - A Novel

de Parks, Brad
État : Neuf
13,71 €
TVA incluse - Livraison GRATUITE
Parks, Brad Say Nothing - A Novel
Parks, Brad - Say Nothing - A Novel

Ce produit vous plaît ? N'hésitez pas à le dire !

13,71 € dont de TVA
Plus que 1 exemplaire(s) disponible(s) Plus que 6 exemplaire(s) disponible(s)
Livraison : entre 2021-04-27 et 2021-04-29
Vente et expédition: Dodax

Autres options d'achat

1 offre à 15,05 €

Vendu par Dodax EU

15,05 € dont de TVA
État : Neuf
Livraison gratuite
Livraison : entre 2021-04-27 et 2021-04-29
Afficher autres options d'achat

La description

Named a Best Book of 2017 by Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews
Winner of the 2018 Library of Virginia People's Choice Award

Judge Scott Sampson doesn't brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: A prestigious job. A loving marriage. A pair of healthy children. Then a phone call begins every parent's most chilling nightmare. Scott's six-year-old twins, Sam and Emma, have been taken. The judge must rule exactly as instructed in a drug case he is about to hear. If he refuses, the consequences for the children will be dire.

For Scott and his wife, Alison, the kidnapper's call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror. Through it all, they will stop at nothing to get their children back, no matter the cost to themselves . . . or to each other.

"Outstanding-starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. Say Nothing shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form."-Lee Child

"Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end."-Sue Grafton

"The work of an author who continues to raise his sights and refine his immense talent."-Richmond Times-Dispatch

Contributeurs

Écrivain:
Parks, Brad

Détails du produit

Extrait:
ONE

Their first move against us was so small, such an infinitesimal blip against the blaring background noise of life, I didn't register it as anything significant.

It came in the form of a text from my wife, Alison, and it arrived on my phone at 3:28 one Wednesday afternoon:

Hey sorry forgot to tell you kids have dr appt this pm. Picking them up soon.

If I had any reaction to this unexpected disruption, it was only mild disappointment. Wednesday was Swim With Dad, a weekly ritual revered enough in our family to deserve capitalization. The twins and I had been partaking in it regularly for the past three years or so. While it had started as a predictable disaster-more the avoidance of drowning than actual swimming-it had since evolved into something far more pleasurable. Now age six, Sam and Emma had become ardent water rats.

For the forty-five minutes we usually lasted, until one of them got that chatter in the teeth that told me they were done, all we did was enjoy one another. We splashed around. We raced from one end of the pool to the other. We played water games of our own invention, like the much-beloved Baby Hippo. There's something about having genuine fun with your kids that's good for the soul in away nothing else is, even if you're forever stuck in the role of Momma Hippo.

I looked forward to it in the same way I cherished all the weekly rites that had come to define our family's little universe. Friday, for example, was Board Game-apalooza. Sunday was Pancake Day. Monday was Hats and Dancing, which involved, well ,dancing. With hats on.

And maybe none ofthis sounds terribly sexy. Certainly, you wouldn't want to slap it across a Cosmo cover-HOW TO GIVE YOUR MAN THE BEST PANCAKE DAY OF HIS LIFE! But I have come to believe a good routine is the bedrock of a happy family, and therefore a happy marriage, and therefore a happy life.

So I was miffed, that Wednesday afternoon, when the enjoyment of our little routine was taken away from me. One of the benefits of being a judge is having a certain amount of say-so over my own schedule. My staff knows that, no matter what crisis of justice may be visiting us on a Wednesday afternoon, the Honorable Scott A. Sampson will be leaving his chambers at four o'clock to pick up his kids from after-school care so he can take them to the YMCA pool.

I thought about going anyway and swimming some laps. Doughy forty-four-year-old white men with sedentary jobs ought not pass up opportunities for exercise. But the more I thought about it, being there without Sam and Emma felt wrong. I went home instead.

For the past four years, we've lived in an old farmhouse alongside the York River we call "the farm," because we're creative that way. It's in a rural part of the Virginia tidewater known as the Middle Peninsula, in an unincorporated section of Gloucester County, about three hours south of D.C. and many steps off the beaten path.

How we ended up there is a story that starts in Washington, where I was the go-to policy guy for an influential US senator. It continues with an incident-might as well refer to it as The Incident, also capitalized-that landed me in a hospital bed, which tends to encourage the rethinking of one's priorities. It ends with my appointment as a federal judge, sitting in Norfolk, in the Eastern District ofVirginia.

It was not, necessarily, what I had envisioned for myself when I first picked up Congressional Quarterly as a sixth grader. Nor was it your conventionalput-out-to-political-pasture assignment. From a workload standpoint, federal judges tend to be like ducks: There's more going on under the surface than anyone quite realizes.

But it was certainly better than where The Incident might have ended for me, which was the morgue.

So I would have told you, all things considered, I had it pretty damn good, with my two healthy kids, my loving wife, my challenging-but-rewarding job, my happy routine.

Or at least that's what I w
Type de média:
Taschenbuch
Éditeur:
Penguin US
Biographie:
International bestselling author Brad Parks is the only writer to have won the Shamus, Nero, and Lefty Awards, three of crime fiction's most prestigious prizes. A former reporter with The Washington Post and The Star-Ledger (Newark), he lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.
Évaluation:
Praise for Say Nothing
A Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2017

"Parks does a fantastic job conveying every parent's worst fear while also showcasing the marital conflict and mistrust that erupts in the midst of a crisis. . . . Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don't stay silent, tell everyone."-Library Journal (starred review)

"The novel's final pages are exciting, surprising, and deeply moving. How moving? Its ending brought me to tears, and, where books are concerned, such moments are rare. . . . [Say Nothing] carries his work to a new level."-The Washington Post

"Parks dispenses plot twists with a poisoned eyedropper. . . . The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you'll be shaking with gratitude that it's finally over."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[Say Nothing] begins by shocking the mind and ends by shattering the heart...Readers will quickly say 'yes' to this spellbinding, disturbing novel."-The Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Shamus Award-winner Parks's excellent domestic thriller credibly portrays a family under severe stress. . . . [Readers will] find themselves on pins and needles awaiting the reveals."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A mystery is supposed to be a surprise but this one floored me. Parks has been a consistently solid writer, but with this book, he entered a new level with even fuller characters and superb plotting. Parks plumbs parents' anguish when their children are kidnapped."-NJ.com

"Fast-paced and terrifying, Say Nothing is a roller coaster of fear, deception, jealousy, and terror."-Bustle

"With the tension ratcheted up to 10, you'll churn through pages like your life depends on it. Filled with more twists and turns than a country back road, you will never see what lies ahead. . . . After reading Say Nothing, I only had one thought in my head: I have to read everything Parks has written."-Free Lance-Star (Fredericksburg)

"Parks's legal thriller gets off to a roaring start, plunking us immediately in the middle of things."-Booklist

"Outstanding-starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. Say Nothing shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form."-Lee Child

"Say Nothing moves Brad Parks onto the top shelf of thriller writers. He grabs readers' hearts in the first chapter and doesn't let go until the last line."-Joseph Finder

"A pedal-to-the-floor thriller! Say Nothing grabs you from the first few paragraphs and never lets go. Writing in sharp, no-nonsense prose, Parks perfectly nails the dynamics of a family under the gun and has conjured a plot (did I mention high-speed?) that leaps straight from today's headlines. This novel's a winner!"-Jeffery Deaver

"Say Nothing is tremendously satisfying, packed with engaging characters and surprising plot twists and a furious build of tension until its gut-wrenching pay-off."-Chris Pavone

"A twisting, suspenseful ride that adds a new and original twist to the legal thriller: a judge, cornered. If you haven't discovered Brad Parks yet, Say Nothing is your chance. Smart, propulsive storytelling."-William Landay

"Grips you in a vise from the very beginning, and shreds your emotions. Terrific, powerful storytelling at its very best. A tour de force."-Peter James
Langues:
Englisch
Nombre de pages:
448
Sommaire:
Judge Scott Sampson is about to pick up his six-year-old twins when his wife texts him that shell get the kids instead. When she gets home later, Scott realizes she doesnt have the kids. And she never sent the text. Then the kidnapper calls and warns the judge to do exactly as he is told in a drug case he is ruling on. The couple will stop at nothing to get their kids back, no matter the cost.

Données de base

Type d'produit:
Paperback book
Dimensions du colis:
0.224 x 0.144 x 0.032 m; 0.5 kg
GTIN:
09781101986523
DUIN:
6UOJREG8RHG
MPN:
27650990
13,71 €
Nous avons recours aux cookies sur notre site internet afin de rendre votre visite plus agréable et ergonomique. Nous vous invitons ainsi à cliquer sur "Accepter les cookies" ! De plus amples informations sont disponibles dans notreDéclaration de protection des données.